IF EVERY AFRICAN PARENT WAS #1 IN CLASS…..

So, every time report card season would come, most Tanzanian parents would start with a story. I later found out many of my friends were told a very similar story. It went (or perhaps still goes) a little bit like this:
‘In my days I always came first in my class.’ And then they all add a personal twist. This was my father’s:

”I had to put in extra study time so I would read on the corridor next to the bathroom because that is where the light bulb was. I never played cards (his efforts to make sure I’d never consider poker as a social activity) and I always took all my subjects very seriously.”

Now, I have to say that after the 6th grade I didn’t buy the whole ‘all parents came first’ story because surely, someone had to come last (or second?). But the rest of it I doubt was fabricated. I grew up looking at my parents as heroes because they had to overcome a lot of things. And I suppose they told us such stories to let us know where they came from and how much better things were for us.

So, what is the moral of this story? One, dear parents, it’s okay to tell us that you worked hard in school because the pressure to always try to come first is a bit much for some. And second? With everything that is provided to us these days there is so much more we can achieve. I know some people still have the perception that Africa is full of uneducated uninspired youths who wait for aid to get things done. This is not true. Older generations inspire us to do better, and go further. Some people may still have to study by candlelight  but you know what, the hunger to improve one’s livelihood is motivation enough for them to do the necessary to achieve their goals.

Hopefully with time one day the youth will not have to read by candle light, but till then? The struggle continues.

This entry was posted in Africa and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to IF EVERY AFRICAN PARENT WAS #1 IN CLASS…..

  1. Asha says:

    My father used to go on about how he had no shoes, and he had to walk barefoot to school everyday which was like a 2hour journey, he’d even show me scars on his feet. I used to feel so guilty about it for some reason and it would make me work harder in school, but at the same time i felt detached from his experiences because i had everything i needed and wanted as a kid. My problem ws not a lack of shoes rather what shoes to wear, i wonder what stories of hardship i can impart on my future children? Maybe i should just stick with the top on class one, well in some classes i was top just not all of them….details.

Leave a Reply

