IF YOU WORK REALLY REALLY HARD….

Image

Is life cruel? Is it? Because somewhere along the line the super plan gets all weird and uncertain. Long long ago I always thought if you did everything right everything else just falls into place. So after working very hard and getting those high grades why are so many people included in the statistic of telling companies how awesome ‘they’ are and why it would be great for ‘you’ if they hired you? Yeah, this is a very weird ‘you’ versus ‘them’ thing. This doesn’t seem right at all. They didn’t help you in any of your exams and assignments so why should you suck up to them? Besides the obvious need of being financially independent I am really baffled. It’s a tricky one this one, do we go from telling kids ‘if you work really hard you will be very successful’ to ‘you can be average and still be filthy rich?’. Because my balloon popped ages ago. My achievements remain my own. No one really is going to give you a pat on the shoulder. No one really cares, well, not really. So let’s talk about the real issue here..EXPERIENCE.

So I propose we go with ‘If you focus on piling up a lot of experience, you will get a good job’. They rarely say ‘well, you kinda suck so we’re kinda not giving you a job’ but they say something like ‘unfortunately most of the candidates have a lot more experience than you.’ Can we hire a hit man to go kill experience for us because I think right now it’s really in the way of a lot of things. My holiday in Spain, my increased participation in stuff like sky diving and other cool stuff like that.

I know very well that in a few years I will be the one with the bullseye on my back but today I feel I have the license to rant. I don’t think parenting is easy, you want your kids to do their best. But then what do you do when they ask ‘so um, yeah, I’ve kinda done all those things…now what?’. I would love to suggest a Euro trip you know, to get things off their minds about all the explosive fireworks that were a no-show. And before you tell me ‘oh yeah, some people work really hard and get amazing jobs’ I will gladly inform you that their numbers are as good as the number of wishing stars you see in a year. This would relate to the entire population of awesome students of course. And this is in the United Kingdom,a country that believes in a meritocracy.

So what, you ask, happens to a lot of ordinary hard-working awesome students in Tanzania? Screwed, over and beyond. Okay, maybe not over and beyond but mostly screwed. Many people have a nepotism thing going on. I get looking out for your own, but it makes you wonder whether or not sometimes education defeats its purpose. We could certainly do with a lot more access to it. Maybe we’re just handling it the wrong way. Maybe I have it all wrong. You tell me. If Frank had that conversation with Charlie (It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia) I have a feeling Charlie would have come up with a great business idea. But then, assuming he had the same conversation with Dennis and sweet Dee earlier on, 20 years later it becomes something like…..

Image

Can’t say I blame them. Motivation is not like an energy drink you can purchase from a store. When it does eventually wear out you are doomed. But by all means keep pushing on because somewhere over the rainbow, boy! those fireworks will just blow your mind. Till then, if anyone finds experience, please shoot them in the face for me.

But wait, hang on, before you all think I’m just a female raging monster I do believe hard work eventually pays off. Key word being ‘eventually’. The whole patience thing is the tricky bit. I randomly listened to Nas’s ‘I Can’ and felt  no, life isn’t cruel, maybe we are just a little too hard on ourselves. Tap into all the things that can keep you going whether its your family, friends, faith, hobbies et al. Just keep on keeping on..and yeah, bounty on experience still stands.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IF YOU WORK REALLY REALLY HARD….

  1. Scribbler says:

    Hilarious! Wonder how bad it is for ppl like me who have little patience:)
    I do think experience is important and it make sense but hard work should be considered.

Leave a Reply

